2020 Competition Prizes

2020 Competition Prizes

A total cash prize pool of over AU$200,000 is offered

Donated by
Ernest Hutcheson First Prize Friends of The Sydney  $50,000
Percy Grainger Second Prize Philanthropy Initiative Australia $25,000
George Frederick Boyle Third Prize Ivy Lane League $20,000
William Murdoch Fourth Prize  Donate $1,500 to give as a collective prize $15,000
Arthur Benjamin Fifth Prize Rosalind Carlson OAM $10,000
Noel Mewton-Wood Sixth Prize Ron, Lynn and Marcus Ogden $7,500
Eileen Joyce Best Overall Concerto A/Prof Michael Stubbs in celebration of his Aunt, Australian pianist Ruth Gerald $5,000
Roy Agnew Best Concerto with String Orchestra Drs Keith and Eileen Ong $3,000
Miriam Hyde Best Concerto with Symphony Orchestra Janice Tuynman in memory of her husband Hank Tuynman $3,000
Hephzibah Menuhin Best Sonata with Violin and Piano David and Jan Robinson $3,000
Geoffrey Parsons Best Sonata with Cello and Piano Minnie Biggs $3,000
Roger Smalley Best Preliminaries Round 1 Recital The Council of the Friends of The Sydney $3,000
Una Bourne Best Accompanist Prize Virginia Braden OAM $3,000
Isador Goodman Best Preliminaries Round 2 Recital Victorian Friends of the Competition $3,000
Ignaz Friedman Best Semi-Finals Recital Dr Robert Mitchell in memory of Denis Condon $3,000
Geoffrey Tozer Most Promising Pianist not Proceeding to the Finals Joan Adler $5,000
Nancy Weir Best Australian Pianist Youth Music Foundation Australia $20,000
Malcolm Williamson Best Performance of an Australian Piece Dr Robert Mitchell in memory of Denis Condon $5,000
Rex Hobcroft People’s Choice Prize  Yamaha $10,000
Edward Goll Best Performance of a work by Liszt Bequest from Neville Grace $5,000
Lance Dossor Best Performance of a work by Beethoven Bequest from Mrs Jana Chvojka $5,000
Best Performance of a work from any period before 1950 by a rarely-played and unduly neglected composer Harold Fabrikant and Daniel Mitterdorfer in honour of the 150th anniversary of the birth of Louis Vierne $5,000
$1000 prize for each of the six semi-finalists not proceeding to the finals Mrs Wendy Weight OAM $6,000

Additional Prizes

Additional prizes and engagements will be added here as they are confirmed

The First Prize Winner will have the following engagements:

A capital city tour of Australia (Sydney, Melbourne, Canberra, Brisbane, Hobart, Adelaide, Perth & Alice Springs) Wednesday 29 July – Saturday 8 August 2020; supported by a grant from the Bequest of Harry Colligan and Lionel Hann
A concerto engagement with the London Philharmonic Orchestra
An Australia-wide tour April – June 2021
A CD recording for Hyperion Records, to be recorded by July 2021
Concert engagement at the Bard Music Festival, New York 2021
A recital, live-streamed, offered by Judith Neilson at the Phoenix Theatre, Sydney Monday 10 August 2020
A performance in Konzerte im Thümer-saal (Theaterzentrum der Folkwang Universität der Künste, Bochum)
A concert in the Drogheda Classical Music Series, Ireland
A concert in the Associação de Amigos de Musica Series, Portugal

A further selection of engagements will be awarded to the winner and/or other finalists. These will include:

An engagement to perform the left Hand Piano Concerto by Kurt Leimer during the Mariinsky International Piano Festival with Maestro Valery Gergiev and the Mariinsky Symphony Orchestra in December 2020.
A week of professional development in Sydney 12 – 16 October 2020 – six grand finalists
Sydney Concert 18 October 2020 – six grand finalists
Medal Given to the Youngest and Most Promising Competitor donated by Graham Wickes in memory of Australian pianist Dennis Hennig
A recital for the winner of the Best Australian Prize in the Elisabeth Murdoch Hall at Melbourne Recital Centre plus a performance fee of $1,000 presented by Hoang Pham – winner of the 2008 Best Australian Prize
A recital for the winner of the Best Australian Prize offered by Judith Neilson at the Phoenix Theatre, Sydney – October 2020
A recital for other selected prize winners offered by Judith Neilson at the Phoenix Theatre, Sydney – 2021 & 2022