Jury & Creatives


The eight member jury have been announced.

Olivier Cazal

A student of the great Pierre Sancan, Olivier Cazal entered his piano studio at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique in Paris at the age of 12.
Mark Coughlan

Mark Coughlan is a pianist, musical director, educator and businessman, and is the Chief Executive Officer of the West Australian Symphony Orchestra.
Elena Kats-Chernin AO

Born in Tashkent, Uzbekistan, Elena Kats-Chernin studied music in Moscow, Sydney and Hanover. She has created works across nearly every genre, from intimate compositions for piano to pieces for chamber ensembles, full-scale choir and symphony orchestras as well as ballets and operas.
Olga Kern

Russian-American pianist Olga Kern is now recognized as one of her generation’s great artists.  With her vivid stage presence, passionately confident musicianship and extraordinary technique, the striking pianist continues to captivate fans and critics alike.
Marianna Shirinyan

Armenian-born Marianna Shirinyan is one of the most creative and sought after pianists in Europe today. Her vibrant and virtuos musicianship puts her in demand, both as soloist and as chamber musician.
Vladimir Tropp

Vladimir Tropp was born in Moscow in 1939. He studied at the celebrated Gnessins Music School from an early age. His teachers were the distinguished Russian pedagogues, Moisey Feigin and Teodor Gutman, both pupils of Heinrich Neuhaus.
Xiaohan Wang

Chinese pianist Xiaohan Wang is a leading figure in the classical music world in his native country as well as abroad. He is Artistic Director in the Arthur Rubinstein International Youth Piano Competition and the Singapore International Piano Competition, and has recently been appointed Head of Piano at the Tianjin Juilliard School Pre-College and professor of chamber music for the post-graduate.
Mira Yevtich

Mira Yevtich was born in Belgrade and started playing the Piano when she was three years old. In 1980 she was awarded a Doctorate in Piano Performance at Moscow State Conservatory Tchaikovsky studying under Professor Stanislav Neihaus and a Doctorate at Gnessin Academy of Music studying under Professor Boris Berlin.

Chamber Music Partners

Jack Liebeck and Li-Wei Qin will perform in the semi-finals chamber rounds on Friday 17 and Saturday 18 July 2020 at the Verbrugghen Hall at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music.

Jack Liebeck

Possessing flawless technical mastery and a “beguiling silvery tone” (BBC Music Magazine), violinist Jack Liebeck’s playing embraces the worlds of elegant chamber-chic Mozart through to the impassioned mastery required to frame Brett Dean The Lost Art of Letter Writing.
Li-Wei Qin

As one of the most important Chinese Australian cellists, Li-Wei Qin has appeared all over the world as a soloist and as a chamber musician.


Johannes Fritzsch will conduct the 19th/20th century concerto finals Friday 24 and Saturday 25 July 2020 at the Sydney Town Hall.

Johannes Fritzsch

Maestro Johannes Fritzsch recently held the position of Chief Conductor of the Grazer Oper and Grazer Philharmonisches Orchester, Austria.


Camerata - Queensland's Chamber Orchestra

Camerata was founded in 1987 by acclaimed string educator Elizabeth Morgan AM, as an idealistic ensemble of emerging Artists which she then formed into a professional chamber orchestra in 2005.
Sydney Symphony Orchestra

DAVID ROBERTSON Chief Conductor and Artistic Director PROFESSOR THE HON. DAME MARIE BASHIR AD CVO Patron Founded in 1932 by the Australian Broadcasting Commission, the Sydney Symphony Orchestra has evolved into one of the world’s finest orchestras as Sydney has become one of the world’s great cities.