Kevin Chow


November 14, 1996


First Prize (Piano) and Grand Finalist: The ABC Australian Young Performers Award (Sydney, Australia)
First Prize and The John Allison/Henderson Piano Scholarship: Sydney Eisteddfod (Sydney, Australia)
Winner: Melbourne Conservatorium of Music Concerto Competition (Melbourne, Australia)
Fourth Prize: Thailand International Piano Competition (Nakhon Pathom, Thailand)

Kevin Chow has a Bachelor of Music with Honours from the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music, having studied under Glenn Riddle. He is recently obtained his Master of Music at Yale University under full scholarship, studying with Boris Slutsky and previously Peter Serkin and Boris Berman.

Kevin has performed extensively throughout Australia and given recitals in China, America, Thailand, Morocco, Greece, New Zealand and Indonesia. He has performed as a soloist with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Thailand Philharmonic Orchestra, Morocco Philharmonic Orchestra, Melbourne Conservatorium of Music Orchestra and City of Fremantle Symphony Orchestra. He has collaborated in masterclasses with notable musicians including Emanuel Ax, Paavali Jumppanen, Lang Lang, Boris Berman, Alessio Bax and Leslie Howard. A keen chamber musician, he has worked with New Haven New Music Initiative and will perform in the 2020 Australian Festival of Chamber Music.

Highlights in Kevin’s career have included performing for HRH The Prince of Wales and The Duchess of Cornwall in Melbourne and having his performances broadcast on radio throughout Australia and New Zealand.



Upcoming Competition Repertoire

Preliminary Round 1: 20-Minute Recital

Johann Sebastian Bach: Prelude and Fugue in E♭ minor BWV 853
Frédéric Chopin: Ballade No.4 Op.52

Preliminary Round 2: 30-Minute Recital

IV. Strauss. Der Rosenkavalier. Ramble on the Last Love Duet

III. Bénédiction de Dieu dans la solitude

Claude Debussy: L'Isle Joyeuse L.106

Semi Finals Round 1: 65-Minute Recital

II. Der Müller und der Bach

I. Allegro

II. Scherzo. Assai vivace

III. Adagio sostenuto

IV. Introduzione. Largo – Fuga: Allegro risoluto

I. Infernal Dance
II. Lullaby
III. Finale

Semi Final Round 2: Chamber Music

I. Allegro, ma non troppo

II. Improvisation: Andante cantabile

III. Finale: Andante – Allegro

III. Schön Rosmarin

I. Lento

II. Allegro scherzando

III. Andante

IV. Allegro mosso

Edward Elgar: Salut d’amour Op.12

Final Round 1: Concerto with String Orchestra

I. Allegro moderato

II. Andante con moto

III. Rondo. Vivace

Final Round 2: Concerto with Symphony Orchestra

I. Allegro ma non tanto
II. Intermezzo: Adagio
III. Finale: Alla breve