Kyoungsun Park


South Korea
May 4, 1992


Second Prize: ISANGYUN International Music Competition (South Korea)
First Prize: Japan Piano Open International Competition (Tokyo, Japan)
Sixth Prize: Hastings International Piano Concerto Competition (Hastings, UK)
Third Prize – Hopkinson Silver Medal and Peter Wallfisch Prize: Chappell Medal Piano Competition (London, UK)

Kyoungsun Park earned his Bachelor of Music at Seoul National University studying with Professor Hie-Yon Choi. He was awarded an ABRSM scholarship to attend the Royal College of Music in London, where, as a student of Professor Dmitri Alexeev, he received a Master of Performance with Distinction.


In 2012 Kyoungsun made his concerto debut with the Seoul National University Symphony Orchestra in the Concert Hall of the Seoul Arts Center, performing his own jazz inspired cadenza. He has performed as a soloist with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, with the Mihail Jora Philharmonic Orchestra in Bacău, in Korea with the TIMF Orchestra, the Daejeon Arts Orchestra and the Korea University Orchestra. He has participated in masterclasses with Vladimir Ashkenazy, Ian Hobson, Peter Frankl, Julian Martin, Jerome Rose and Matti Raekallio.


Kyoungsun is currently studying at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater München in Germany under Professor Michael Schäfer.


Upcoming Competition Repertoire

Preliminary Round 1: 20-Minute Recital

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: 12 Variations on a Minuet by Fischer K.179
Frédéric Chopin: Rondo in C minor Op.1

Preliminary Round 2: 30-Minute Recital

Peter Sculthorpe: Nocturnal

I. Ondine

II. Le Gibet

III. Scarbo

Semi Finals Round 1: 65-Minute Recital

Johann Sebastian Bach: Musical Offering BWV 1079 ‘Ricercar a 6’

I. Molto moderato e cantabile
II. Andante
III. Menuetto. Allegro moderato – Trio
IV. Allegretto

I. Russian Dance
II. Petrushka’s Cell
III. The Shrovetide Fair

Semi Final Round 2: Chamber Music

I. Allegro moderato

II. Scherzo. Presto

III. Andantino

IV. Allegro vivace

Fritz Kreisler: Caprice Viennois Op.2

I. Allegro moderato

II. Scherzo

III. Largo

IV. Finale. Allegro

Gabriel Fauré: Romance in A Major Op.69

Final Round 1: Concerto with String Orchestra

I. Allegro moderato

II. Lento

III. Moderato

IV. Allegro con brio

Final Round 2: Concerto with Symphony Orchestra

I. Allegro moderato

II. Andante con moto

III. Rondo. Vivace