Sponsors and Donors

We acknowledge and thank our generous sponsors and donors.

If you would like to consider lending your support please visit the Support Us page.

2020 Prize Sponsors and Donors

Ernest Hutcheson First Prize

Donated by


Percy Grainger Second Prize

Donated by Philanthropy Initiative Australia

George Frederick Boyle Third Prize

Donated by the Ivy Lane League ^

William Murdoch Forth Prize

Donated by Silvana d’Iapico & Peter and Helen O’Meara

Arthur Benjamin Fifth Prize

Donated by Rosalind Carlson OAM

Noel Mewton-Wood Sixth Prize

Donated by Ron, Lynn and Marcus Ogden

Eileen Joyce Best Overall Concerto

Donated by A/Prof Michael Stubbs in celebration of his Aunt, Australian pianist Ruth Gerald

Roy Agnew Best Concerto with String Orchestra

Donated by Drs Keith and Eileen Ong

Miriam Hyde Best Concerto with Symphony Orchestra

Donated by Janice Tuynman in memory of her husband Hank Tuynman

Hephzibah Menuhin Best Sonata with Violin and Piano

Donated by David and Jan Robinson

Geoffrey Parsons Best Sonata with Cello and Piano

Donated by Minnie Biggs

Una Bourne Best Accompanist Prize

Donated by Virginia Braden OAM

Roger Smalley Best Preliminaries Round 1 Recital

Donated by the Council of the Friends of The Sydney *

Isador Goodman Best Preliminaries Round 2 Recital

Donated by the Victorian Friends of the Competition

Ignaz Friedman Best Semi Finals Recital

Donated by Dr Robert Mitchell in memory of Denis Condon

Geoffrey Tozer Most Promising Pianist not Proceeding to the Finals

Donated by Joan Adler

Nancy Weir Best Australian Pianist

Sponsored by


Malcolm Williamson Best Performance of an Australian Piece

Donated by Dr Robert Mitchell in memory of Denis Condon

Rex Hobcroft People’s Choice Prize

Sponsored by


Edward Goll Best Performance of a Work by Liszt

Supported by a Bequest from Neville Grace

Lance Dossor Best Performance of a Work by Beethoven

Supported by a Bequest from Mrs Jana Chvojka

Best performance of a work from any period before 1950 by a rarely-played and unduly neglected composer

Donated by Dr Harold Fabrikant and Daniel Mitterdorfer in honour of the 150th anniversary of the birth of Louis Vierne

Prize for the Six Semi Finalists not Proceeding to the Finals

Donated by Mrs Wendy Weight OAM

Medal Given to the Youngest and Most Promising Competitor

Donated by Graham Wickes in memory of Australian pianist Dennis Hennig

First Prize Winner’s Australian Capital City Tour 2020

Supported by a grant from a Bequest from John Colligan and Lionel Hann

2020 Masterclass Series

Sponsored by

Universally Speaking Series

Sponsored by

Collective Prize Donors

^ Rita Avdiev, Jan Bowen AM, Barbara Carney,  Gundo Frenda, Liz Gibson, Hugh Hallard, Sinclair & Wendy Hill, Neroli Hobbins, Barbara & Deborah Leser, Glenice MacLellan, Jean-Claude Niederer & Neil Hendry, Helga Rash, Murray Shaw, Hywel Sims, Li-Leen Tan, Andrew Wells and Anonymous (1)

* Len Amadio AO, Michael Baume AO, The Hon Bronwyn Bishop AO, Annette Blinco, Judith Einstein, Glenys Granger, Jenny Granger, Jennifer Harris, Sylvia Laurent, Christine Liddy AO, Peter Lazar AO, Jan McDonald, Diana-Rose Orr, Alf Reichardt OAM, Ross Steele AM and Janice Tuynman

Chair Donors

Piers Lane donated by Jane Mathews

Club 32

Brian Abel and Mark Manton
The Hon Bronwyn Bishop AO
Ross Blackmore in memory of Denise Blackmore
Tom Breen and Rachael Kohn
Brennan Lynch Foundation Fund
Richard Cobden SC
David and Ida Constable
Silvana d’Iapico
Martin and Susie Dickson (x 2)
Bunny Gardiner-Hill
Judy Hunt and Hugh Hallard
Jennifer Harris
Donald and Kate Magarey
Anthony and Suzanne Maple-Brown
Helen Meddings and Anonymous
Greeba Pritchard and Robert Mitchell
Angela Raymond and Carole Roussel
A/Prof Michael Stubbs in celebration of Australian pianist Ruth Gerald
Rob Thomas AO and Sam Meers AO
Sandy Watson
Philip Bacon AM
Rhondda and Ron McCallum
Jane McCallum
Anonymous x 4

Cycle of Giving Donors

The Hammerklavier

Donation of $10,000 or more
Anonymous x 1

Les Adieux / Das Lebewohl

Donation of $5,000 or more
Angus and Kimberley Holden
Elizabeth Stuart & Bruce MacDiarmid
Dowie Taylor
Anthony and Suzanne Maple-Brown

The Appassionata

Donation of $2,500 or more
Andrew Bell & Joanna Bird
Alison Brown
Ian Dickson & Reg Holloway
Jane Mathews
Timothy & Eva Pascoe

The Waldstein

Donation of $1,000 or more
Bob & Alison Carr
Dr John H Casey
Loz Copley
Drs Frank & Ailbhe Cunningham
Martin Dickson
Geoff & Anna Joyce
Alec & Leanne Leopold
Kevin & Deidre McCann
Donald & Kate Magarey
Ron, Lynn & Marcus Ogden
Hoang Pham
Greeba Pritchard
Timothy Rohl AM & Paul McGrath
Janice Tuynman
Maree Watts
Anonymous x 2

The Tempest

Donation of $600 or more
Jill Davies
John Meyer
Shanthini Naidoo
Margaret Sikora
Tony Strachan

The Moonlight

Donation of $250 or more
Marie Bashir
Stephen Bell
Rebecca Cheng
Lorraine & Rodney Gibson
David & Christine Hartgill
Penny Herbert in memory of Dunstan Herbert
Sally Mactier
Ann McFarling
Helen & Phil Meddings
Ben & Judy Mills
Janet and Michael Neustein
Carole Roussel
Studio W Spencer White Family
Pamela Whalan
Liz Claridge
Anonymous x 7

The Pathétique

Donation of $100 or more
Karen Baker
Lindsay Bergin
The Chuang Foundation
Rae Cottle
Joy Evans
Anthea Fawcett
Lorraine & Rodney Gibson
Vivienne Nabarro
Ruth Procter
Frank Robertson
Wendy Robinson
Patricia Staunton
Dr Ben and Mrs Janette Steinberg
Yvonne Ten Pas
Judith Turner
Anonymous x 6

Tour Partners

Oxana Shevchenko and Kenny Broberg Tours 2019

First Prize Winner Sydney & Melbourne Concerts 2020

Corporate Partners

Piano Partners:

Series Presenting Partner:

Presenting Venue Partner:

Hotel Partners:

Wine Partners:


Brand Development and Design:


Preferred IT suppliers:

Regional Touring Donors

Roger Brown
Peter Burch
Janet & Michael Neustein
Ruth Procter
Jennifer Roland
Judith Whitaker
Anonymous x 7

Andrey Gugnin CD Donors

Susan Alexander
Marcus Barker & Rohan Morris
Dominic Buckley
Janet George
Alexandra & Carina Martin
Agnes Matrai
Peter & Helen O’Meara
Carole Roussel
Lourdes St George & Spencer White
Tony Strachan
Anonymous x 5

Kenny Broberg Tour Donors

Tony Langshow
Kaye Loder
Ruth Procter
Sharon Summers

The Sydney Piano Marathon Donors

Brian Abel
Shanthini Naidoo
Margaret Sikora
Maree Watts
Suzanne Robertson
Lizzi Nicoll
Judy Longley
G. Tamura
Virginia Braden
Jocelyn T.
Anita and Chris Levy
Julia and Scarlett Vu
Dr V Jean McPherson
Lois Goodin
Kung Eu
Anne Dyer
Margaret and Ron Wright
Jill McLelland
Anonymous x 25